(The 2020-2021 Yonkers City Council:  Council member Anthony J. Merante, Majority Leader Corazon Pineda-Isaac, Council member Shanae V. Williams, Council President Mike Khader, Council member Tasha Diaz, Minority Leader Mike Breen and Council member John Rubbo.)

To find your individual Council Member, click here

Office of the City Council

The City Council routinely meets on the second and fourth Tuesday of the month, with preliminary rules meetings on the first and third Tuesdays. Special meetings may also be called at the discretion of the Council Presidents necessary. The Council's authority is defined in the City Charter; its primary function is to pass or reject the Mayor's budget, approve zoning changes, provide advice and consent to Mayoral appointees and to introduce and approve legislation that affects all Yonkers  residents.

Office of the Council President

The City Council President is the presiding officer of the City Council and was last elected in 2017. The Council President leads all meetings of the City Council, and chairs the Rules Committee. Additionally, the Council President acts as a city-wide ombudsman responding to individual constituent requests and community concerns. The Council President is also a voting member of all standing committees of the City Council, the Board of Contract and Supply, and the Community Development Agency (CDA). As a member of the CDA, the City Council President actively promotes economic development in the City.